Mr. Mujahid Ali elected as Chairperson of NA standing committee on Parliamentary Affairs


Islamabad the 12th February, (APP): The Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs in a meeting held today in the Parliament House, Islamabad unanimously elected Ms. Mr. Mujahid Ali, MNA as its Chairperson.

The meeting commenced with recitation from the Holy Quran. The Special Secretary, National Assembly Secretariat welcomed the Honorable Members and briefed them about the procedure for election of Chairman.

Ch. Mehmood Bashir Virk, MNA/Member of the Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs proposed the name of Mr. Mujahid Ali, MNA/Member as Chairman of the Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs which was seconded by Ms. Fouzia Behram, MNA/Member.

Accordingly Mr. Mujahid Ali MNA/Member was unanimously elected as Chairman of the Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs. All the Members congratulated him being the Chairman, Standing Committee and assured to support the Committee beyond their parties affiliation.

The Special Secretary congratulated the newly elected Chairman on behalf of the Honorable Speaker and Secretary, National Assembly Secretariat. He also assured them of full support of the Secretariat for effective and efficient functioning of the Committees under the supervision of the Honorable Speaker.

Chief Whip also congratulated him on being elected as Chairman  and  requested the Committee to consider “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2018”  The Committee decided to consider “The Elections (Amendment) Bill, 2018” on 19-2-2019 in its meeting which will be held in the Committee Room No. 7 (4th Floor) of the Parliament House, Islamabad. This Bill was passed by the Senate on 16-11-2018 and transmitted to the National Assembly. It was introduced in the National Assembly on 17.12.2018.

Hon. Members/MNAs Mr.Mujahid Ali, Ms.Maleeka Ali Bokhari, Ms. Rukhsana Naveed, Mst.Shaheeen Naz Saifullah, Ms. ZileHuma, Ms, Fouzia Behram, Ch. Mehmood Bashir Virk, Moulana Abdul Akbar Chitrali, Mr. Zulfiqar Ali, Bhatti, Mr. Aftab Shahban Mirani, Mr. Mahesh Kumar Malani and Chief Whip, Malik Aamir Dogar, attended the meeting.



VNS Islamabad